Nothing mends the soul like some Glitter.

“some girls are just born with glitter in their veins.” -Paris Hilton

Yes I’m starting this post with a Paris Hilton quote. Hate on her all you want, you’ve got to admit that the bitch has got more than you, and she works less, so there’s gotta be something brilliant hiding underneath those bleached extensions. Anyway, if Miss Hilton was born with glitter in her veins, then you have to understand, glitter is in my soul, yea I was born with an extra chromosome-made of glitter, and it didn’t make me ‘special’ it made me fucking awesome.

I’ve been having quit a terrible week actually so I needed to do something on this magnificently boring Wednesday to feed my soul and perk me up. The task? Glitter Converse.

Image

I’ve had these precious little babies since I was a freshman in high school in 2002 (holy shit I just realized that was 10 years ago, damn I’m getting old). They’ve been through a lot and as they sit right now they were unwearable in public, unless of course I’m doing community service on the side of the road, but they really deserve better than that. So today my Chucks are the lucky winners of a fabulous makeover!

This is super simple to do, and you can use just about any color glitter, and any kind of canvas shoe.

First, you grab a toothbrush and about 1/5 of a cup of bleach and scrub the shoe from top to bottom! The rubber will get white again I promise, you just have to put in a lot of elbow grease. No one said this wasn’t a dirty job, but hey you get to save your old favorite shoes, and have new fun shoes that you would have normally spent $50 or more for. Now if you just bought new white canvas shoes then you get the pleasure of skipping this step. Once you’ve scrubbed them down, throw them in the washing machine and let them dry for 12 hours (overnight) They’ll look like this when you’re done

Image

Now comes the fun part!! Lay a TON TON TON TON TON TON of newspaper down so you don’t wind up cleaning up glitter for 38 years. Then you’ll need a paint brush and some fabric glue, do the tongue of the shoe first and gently paint the entire tongue of the shoe (minus the all stars tag) with the fabric glue, get an even thin layer of glue on the whole thing. Also I forgot to mention to tape down the sides of the shoe so that they don’t get in the way while you’re working on the tongue of the shoe. This also keeps glue from prematurely getting on part of the sides and drying in clumps.

Image

Once you’ve got your glue on the tongue sprinkle it with tons of glitter!!!! Then shake off the excess glitter and set it aside to dry. Make sure the tongues are completely dry before you continue with the rest of the shoe. Once the tongue is dry proceed to do the rest of the shoe, work one side at a time and give each side time to dry before you continue with the next.

Image

When the shoes are completely dry get painters tape and cover the tag in the middle of the tongue as well as thoroughly cover ALL of the rubber parts of the shoe. Then spray the shoes down with multipurpose spray adhesive, then lightly glitter the rest of your shoe, shake off the excess, and let dry again for 24 hours before wearing them. Lace them up however you want, I love ribbons and bows, and think they are a super fun girlie alternative to shoelaces. Voila! New shoes!

Image

Now while these will last they do come with a few warnings. These are things that I don’t mind, but some of you may.

1. for the next 3 weeks you’ll find glitter everywhere.

2. these are far from water proof, wear them only when it’s dry and going to stay that way.

3. anywhere you walk in these will leave a trail of glitter.

4. you need to store them in a shoebox unless you want everything else in your closet to be covered in glitter.

Have fun and let me know if you have any questions!

 

Peace and Fried Chicken,

B

About britaknee

I'm Brittany, I love my bbz (James & Cash) clothes, glitter, mud, glitter, PBR, making stuff, and freedom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

