Button-down, Chin-up

“Leslie what day is it?!?!” HUMP DAY 🐪❤😂
That commercial gets me every time!!!
I’m working on consistency in my blog posts so I’m trying to make sure I post one once a week, since my doctors appointments are always on Wednesdays and therefore I’m always off, it looks like you’ll have a Happy Dirty South Hump Day from now on because I will be updating every Wednesday from here on out.

My baby shower is Sunday so next week expect a “Rock”-a-Bye baby shower BBQ post, but for this week we’re back on trend updates for fall and how depressed I am that my huge Prego self cannot wear the super skinny riding pants that have just started to pour into the store. Also I’m not gunna talk about how sad it makes me that I can’t yet wear a midi-skirt. I promise you I’m not in tears yet…
I am gunna focus on something I’ve been buying throughout my pregnancy that I am so happy with: Button down shirts!!

Before we dig in though can I get a Hallelujah for this new walk in closet that my boyfriend so generously agreed not to share with me!!

20130918-145837.jpg
Omg. It’s just too perfect 😍👑👗👠💄👛💋

Here’s my appointed spot for button down shirts:

20130918-150003.jpg

For starters they are super easy to dress up, all you need is the right accessories and an iron to make it perfectly pristine. I paired this navy and white mini polka dotted one with a beautiful blush stretchy sequin mini that amazingly still fits.

20130918-150337.jpg

For the ones that no longer fit at the bottom we have a few really awesome options. First for work tuck it in to a fabulous high waisted Ponte skirt!

20130918-150553.jpg

Next is a look I’ve come to wear with many of my button downs: The 50s knot. Simply tie it above your bump to not only again accentuate that you’re pregnant, but also look adorable and on trend.

20130918-150812.jpg

All of these looks have been from The Limited, FYI. The last one was this fabulous a-line black&white polka dot skirt paired with a dark chambray button down. If you don’t already have a chambray button down of some sorts, seriously stop what you’re doing, don’t even finish reading this post, and go get one, they are not only spot on for Fall Trend, but they’re a multi-seasonal style that you will get tons of use out of, I’m not even joking, get to your nearest shopping center stat if your wardrobe is lacking this essential item.

For my last look, and my entire last month of pregnancy buttons that simply won’t button anywhere can be used as layering pieces, add them over a tank and some jeans with a cute cardi and you’re all set. I like to belt above my bump too just to add more accessories, I can’t get enough of ’em!

20130918-151505.jpg

So there you have it! Button downs look amazing on a pregnant body, and even if they’re baggy after baby paired with a nice skinny jean or a shorty short they’ll still look incredible. Another reason “Maternity” labeled clothes can suck it. 😉

Mallocreme pumpkins and merengue,
B

About britaknee

I'm Brittany, I love my bbz (James & Cash) clothes, glitter, mud, glitter, PBR, making stuff, and freedom.
This entry was posted in fashion, pregnancy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Button-down, Chin-up

  1. Hello there! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick
    shout out and say I truly enjoy reading through your posts.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums
    that go over the same topics? Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

