Introducing Scrumptious Sundays!

I am unapologetically a homemaker, I have figured this out and I’m not ashamed. Getting into my nesting stage of pregnancy has only made this 1000x more apparent. I like having a nice home, I like buying shit to make my house look better, I don’t like other people in my kitchen, and I love to cook. These are just the facts. I’m constantly experimenting with new confectionary ideas and its a LOT of fun to me. So, I have officially decided to extend my blog (as soon as I can afford a new laptop there will be a major page overhaul) to include recipes and DIY home decor, I’m not sure where to put the home decor but for now you will have a new fabulous recipe every Sunday! Come Sundays for food and Wednesdays for Fashion!
Side note: I’m officially on maternity leave from work and have too much free time with too many physical limitations, can you tell?! šŸ˜†šŸ˜‚šŸ˜­

For my first Scrumptious Sunday recipe I’m putting out one that everyone I know has been asking for: my chocolate chip granola cookies. Ever had a cookie from Chick-Fil-A? Yes, they are incredibly delicious, and also so full of calories, I wanted to make a cookie that had the crunchy goodness that theirs have, but wasn’t almost 400 calories a cookie. First things first: the toasted oats, these you will add to the other cookie ingredients as soon as they come out of the oven

toasted oats
1 1/2 cups old fashioned oats
2 tbsp brown sugar
3 tsp. pure cane sugar
1 tbsp. vanilla extract

Coat the oats with other ingredients evenly, toss in the oven to toast on 350 for about 15 min, checking and mixing at the halfway point

I typically just let the oats chill in the oven til they’re ready to be added to the rest of the cookie dough

cookie dough
2 cups whole wheat flour
1 full bag of chocolate chips
3/4 cup pure cane sugar
3/4 cups light brown sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
2 sticks (1 cup) softened butter

20130929-090418.jpg

Beat with hand mixer on low for about 2 min, til everything is good and mixed

20130929-090947.jpg

Add in toasted oats

20130929-091133.jpg

Mix again with hand mixer for about 1 min

20130929-091402.jpg
mmmm oatey

Now I like my cookie to be of perfect shape, so I flour up my hands and roll each cookie, however if presentation doesn’t matter to you, just drop a teaspoon of cookie dough for each cookie on baking sheets. ***wash your hands before you flour them up, I know it’s a no brainer, but Momma would kill me if I didn’t mention your hands need to be CLEAN for hand rolling****

20130929-092200.jpg
Again I’m big on pretty looking cookies too, so I like to give them lots of room on the baking sheets.
Bake in the oven on 350 for 12 min

20130929-093710.jpg
Remove from oven and let cool for about 5 min before stuffing your face šŸ˜‹
Enjoy!!!

20130929-101344.jpg

Next Sunday; Pumpkin Pie Cheesecake, holla! šŸ‚šŸšŸŽƒ

Cookies and Milk (duh),
B

About britaknee

I'm Brittany, I love my bbz (James & Cash) clothes, glitter, mud, glitter, PBR, making stuff, and freedom.
This entry was posted in DIY, fall, food, pregnancy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

