Champange (I wish)no, but really Chambray

I have waited a while to talk about the subject of Chambray. I’m not quite sure why, it’s been popular for quite some time now, and I do have the utmost adoration for the material, nonetheless I have decided to tackle it today.
Websters defines the material as such:

cham.bray
noun
A fine lightweight fabric woven with white threads across a colored warp

therefore meaning it could be in any color. However you and I both know Chambray as fake denim. It looks like its made out of the same material as jeans, however it’s soft to touch and much more moveable and breathable. I like to think of it as pulling a “sham on denim”. But it is perfect. It’s easy to wear on a day to day basis, comes in a variation of different colors, and looks well in a vast amount of different looks.

On to my favorite Chambray looks:

The Chambray Blazer
I bought this one at The Limited over the spring, it was a hot ticket item and sold out of store really quickly, but if you’re lucky you may be able to find one lurking around their clearance section of the online store. The blazer pairs really well with just about everything, be it a tee shirt and jeans, a pencil skirt and dress top, or as I’ve paired it with below, a breezy sundress and flats. I personally love love love the contrast of the lace with chambray, delicious textures!

20131016-173927.jpg

The Chambray Tunic
Mind you right now my Chambray tunic doesn’t exactly fit like it typically does since I am 9 months pregnant, but even still it’s adorable with a patterned OR colored legging and wedges or boots depending on the temp right now in your state. I paired mine with a long tank since I can’t quite button it anymore, garnet leggings, and black wedges. It’s a really fun day or night look that is super comfortable as well!

20131016-174340.jpg

The Button Down
I do realize I have featured my two chambray button downs in more than one blog post, that should be your hint that they are well worth your dollars and get LOTS of usage.

I have them in a light version and a dark version, both from The Limited, in stores now.

I love pairing the light one with khaki tones and dressing it up.

20131016-174627.jpg

The dark one goes with everything but I especially dig it with patterns that feature black, it’s a subtle but wonderful contrast. This Ponte skirt has been one of my favorite pregnancy items, I can no longer zip it, but thankfully it is not maternity so I look forward to wearing this outfit sometime soon, like next month! 😉

20131016-174907.jpg

There you have it, short and sweet today! At the doc this morning I was 1 cm dilated so I may be taking a brief blog break soon! Being pregnant is exhausting and I can’t wait to meet my little booger!

Strawberries and Rediwhip,
B

About britaknee

I'm Brittany, I love my bbz (James & Cash) clothes, glitter, mud, glitter, PBR, making stuff, and freedom.
This entry was posted in fall, fashion, pregnancy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

