Delicious Oven “Fried” Chicken

A few weeks ago the Heavens opened up a Trader Joes in Tampa, FINALLY! A place we can get organic, healthy, non-GMO foods that isn’t gouging us like Whole Foods?! THANK YOU JEEESUSSSSS!! We just went to get some basics and check out the place, and Boy Howdy, I’m in love. While we were there, along with amazing deals on raw kale, spring greens, spinach, and a massive display of every cheese you can think of (12 different kinds of Brie ALONE), I happened to find a 2 lb package of chicken drumsticks that was only $2.60! Now, we usually just buy boneless skinless chicken breasts and freeze them, so drumsticks were new to me, I’d never cooked them before, you know with skin and all that, but I figured a little experiment never hurt anyone, especially with such a good deal on the meat ( I can AFFORD to mess up dinner lol). This is how I ended up stumbling into the best chicken I’ve ever made in my life, ever! and it was so simple!

I took 3 bowls, one filled with a 50/50 mixture of Coconut Oil and EVOO, one with some Italian Breadcrumbs, and one with salt, pepper, a little whole wheat flour, and almonds that I ground in the food processor. I took each chicken drumstick dipped them in the Oil Mixture, then coated in my Almond/Flour, back in the Oil, then a sprinkle of the Italian breadcrumbs. Baked them for 45 min in the oven on 375, flipping the chicken over half-way through, to get an even “crunch”.

The chicken came out cooked so perfectly, had tons of natural flavors and juices, the skin was the perfect amount of tender and crispy. James DEVOURED this meal, and I’ll definitely be making it again soon!

 

Finger-Lickin' Good!

Finger-Lickin’ Good!

I also have found my favorite way of cooking Green Beans. We bought a bag of frozen organic french green beans at Trader Joes for $2, and it’s HUGE! I still have 75% of the bag left!

All I did for the green beans was warm a sautee pan with a tablespoon of butter, salt and pepper, then I put some garlic and sundried tomatoes and let them simmer just for a minute on their own, then I threw some green beans I had set out to thaw for about an hour. I added some lemon juice, and covered the sautee pan with a lid, turned the heat down to low and let them steam cook for about 10 minutes. Once they were ready I sprinkled them with just a little parmesan cheese and they were delicious!

 

Next time you want to experiment, get some good food at Trader Joes and see what you can come up with! I’m excited and motivated to try more new recipes out!

 

Fried Chicken and Green Beans (obvi).

B

About britaknee

I'm Brittany, I love my bbz (James & Cash) clothes, glitter, mud, glitter, PBR, making stuff, and freedom.
This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

