No-Sew Reading Tepee for my little Indian boy

From the day I started looking for nursery decor while I was pregnant, my baby boy in utero sent me a million signals that he wanted an Indian themed nursery. I found the most perfect bedding in a multi-colored Ikat print at Target, scored an awesome vintage bookshelf with a ballin’ “old world” paint job that we use for his storage and (duh) for housing plenty of Dr. Seuss & Shell Silverstein, and became obsessed with the idea of creating a reading tepee for my baby. It was something I would dream of, and wonder how I could do it. I found a ton of articles on Pinterest about how to make them with pieces of wood and leftover scraps of fabric, but that was too time-consuming for a pregnant Brittany who was working 40 hours a week, moving, and prepping for baby. So I decided to try my own way, something much much simpler than anything I’d seen online thus far, the results aren’t as amazingly adorable as the other ones, but it was much cheaper and easier, and still turned out super adorable!!!! The materials cost me in total around $20, using coupons both at JoAnn’s and Michaels, then getting spray paint for $3 at Wal*Mart, the dowel rods were the priciest part, ($2 a piece and we bought 5), still a better deal than Pottery Barn’s $200!

 

Supplies

about 2 yards of a cool tepee fabric

twine

feathers (for details)

5 36in dowel rods

chocolate brown spray paint

power drill

 

Simple Steps

1. Spray paint the 5 dowel rods with the chocolate brown spray paint, drill a hole in each of the rods, about 3 inches from the top

2. Stretch open and position legs of tepee ensuring plenty of play space

stretchlegs

 

3. Insert twine through the holes and proceed to wrap the rods with the twine, until they are securely fastened together, tie off end tightly

tietwine

4. Wrap fabric around rods at top, tie it tightly to top to cover the base twine

tiefabric

5. Add some feathers for fun, and to completely cover the twine

funwithfeathers

 

All done! Now the real fun begins letting your little one play in the tepee!

tepeetime

Cash loved reading with us, and playing with his toys under his own private tepee! Plus these pics came out adorably!!

babysreadingtepee

Cowboys & Indians,

B

About britaknee

I'm Brittany, I love my bbz (James & Cash) clothes, glitter, mud, glitter, PBR, making stuff, and freedom.
This entry was posted in baby, decor, DIY, motherhood, parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No-Sew Reading Tepee for my little Indian boy

  1. Good web site you have got here.. It’s difficult to find high quality writing like yours
    nowadays. I seriously appreciate individuals like you!
    Take care!!

  2. Love your typing style 🙂

  3. domain says:

    Hurrah, that’s what I was exploring for, what a stuff! present here at this weblog,
    thanks admin of this web page.

Leave a Reply

