Only 10 days left! Progress Report #30daysofpositivechange

images-1Happy Friday! I’m so ready for a fun weekend! Tomorrow we’ll be attending my niece Hayden’s 4th Birthday Party (Childrens Party attire options will be posted tomorrow), and sunday I’m attending a cake tasting event with my future sister-in-law before work! On a side note the cake tasting will not be so great on the waist-line which is why I’ve been working out a little harder this week in preparation for extra carbs, sugar, and calorie consumption!

This week along with basic crunches, leg raises, planks, and squats, walking here and there, I’ve been doing some workouts OnDemand on my cable network. They are really quick but get the heart-rate pumping and are super beneficial.

images-2

Progress Report:

I’m noticing my strength is definitely increasing. Typically when we’d go grocery shopping I’d grab all the light bags, but save the heavier ones for James to carry upstairs, and even then I’d be out-of-breath when I reached the top of the stairs with 6 light grocery bags. Now, since we’ve been frequenting the store more, since we’re buying FRESH foods, we only leave the store with 3-4 bags, and I carry them ALL by myself and am no longer out of breath when I get upstairs!

My mood has changed significantly. I used to be super upset about the most trivial things (a Facebook comment could set me off), and now it seems like each day less and less stuff  bothers me! I’m no longer feeling down or unmotivated, my energy levels are completely up and that’s keeping me positive! I used to wake up with Cash at 9am and chill in the bedroom until 10:30, lazing about and watching cartoons. Now he wakes up at 9 and I get up with him, straighten up the house, play with him, read to him, then while he naps between 11-1 I workout, and shower and get myself dressed for the day. It’s crazy how much of a difference just the subtle changes make!

My posture is noticeably better, and I’m down 5 lbs, and 1 inch in each thigh as well as 1 inch on the hips and .5inches on each arm! It’s slow, but steady progress, and now it’s the time to really push myself to the end! Now with only 10days left, is the time where I really start to make sacrifices to see positive results for the positive changes.

In personal/family life, Cash is slightly more attached to me now, but that’s totally a great thing. He’s chatting more, laughing more, and officially crawling which is incredible! James and I are on a great path, he keeps me positive and supports me on this journey like the best fiancé ever would. We may have tiffs here and there, but they are just small 3 minute “tiff”-like conversations instead of drawn out things where I’m passive-aggressively angry with him all evening. I’m completely registered for 4 classes starting fall semester at HCC (first one starts Aug 21st!!), and I’ve been reading in my alone time to wake up my imagination! I’ve painted 2 canvas’ for my home, and am working on some furniture upgrades tomorrow after Hayden’s party!

images

My Plan:

(other than the wedding cake tasting) Committing to being Gluten-Free, I learned that Nicole Ritchie lives her life Gluten Free, so I want to as well!

90 minutes a day of exercise for 8 of the next 10 days

Listening to more positive music

Cash and I are learning Spanish

to continue with the other small subtle changes I’ve made (reading, doing some creative writing, coffee brainstorming sessions with J, etc..)

images-3

Thinspiration (without all that Man Vs. Food Guy Drama),

B

About britaknee

I'm Brittany, I love my bbz (James & Cash) clothes, glitter, mud, glitter, PBR, making stuff, and freedom.
This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Only 10 days left! Progress Report #30daysofpositivechange

  1. Lifeblooming says:

    Good on you – what a great initiative!

    I like how balanced an approach you’re taking here. In my culture a healthy individual needs 4 aspects of their lives to be balanced and robust:
    – Physical
    – Mental
    – Whanau (family)
    – Wairua (spirit) – can mean religion but can also mean contributing to the wider community, doing something that provides value to others

    So if you look at your approach it hits this wider definition of ‘health’. Cool!

    • britaknee says:

      That’s awesome, yea, I’m working myself out of PPD it’s been a struggle and my extra weight definitely hasn’t helped, but when I think about getting better I know that just being “thin” won’t fix the other stuff, and if I don’t progress and deal with all aspects then I probably won’t stay thin for long anyway!

  2. Sounds like you’re doing an awesome job – keep it up!! Regarding gluten-free, some of the gluten substitutes out there can be just as bad (if not worse) than the regular stuff because gluten is often replaced with sugars, so just be sure to read all the labels still. I’d probably recommend cutting back on carbs rather than just being gluten-free (unless you recognize you are sensitive to it – that’s how Richard is.) So fun to read about how all the little changes add up to big changes that are benefiting your family!

    • britaknee says:

      Well, technically we are cutting carbs and being gluten free at the same time, lol. All we’re eating is organic produce and grilled chicken, so by default it’s gluten free no one is sensitive to it, I just have a tendency to want to do everything Nicole Ritchie does 😉

Leave a Reply

