Drums for a Mini-Musician

Cash LOVES to bang on things, watch people clap, and listen to loud noises. So when he started banging his hand all over his formula can the other day, I got a great idea! Why not make it look like a cool drum? I mean sure I could just save the formula can, it’ll make the same noise, but I don’t want some plain empty formula can rolling around my house making me look all hoarder-ish. So I got out some supplies, and made it look like a drum in less than 10 min!!

babydrum

If you want to add fancy stuff at the end, that’s where the glue-gun and gluesticks come in, but I actually liked the way mine turned out without excess so I just used:

An Old Formula Can (you can use ANY spherical can for this though, like old ones from coffee, oats, etc)

Elmer’s Glue

Mod Podge Craft Paper

Black Chalkboard paint (side note: I’ll be getting some Calamity Jane’s ChalkStyle soon for an EXTRA fun upcoming craft…stay tuned)

 

Make sure you clean/wipe out your can, don’t want ants to be attracted to something the baby’s playing with! This was wayyy too easy. For starters I painted about 3 coats of chalkboard paint on the can (its a quick drying paint so this didn’t take long).

paintit

For the lid, I simply covered it in glue, then neatly applied my Mod-Podge Craft paper, I thought the musical notes would be perfect for this craft!

glue the lid

 

Finally just grab some chalk, get creative and let your baby play!!!!

DIYbabydrum Rhythm & Blues,

B

 

About britaknee

I'm Brittany, I love my bbz (James & Cash) clothes, glitter, mud, glitter, PBR, making stuff, and freedom.
This entry was posted in baby, DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

