Tampa Bay Fashion Week 2014. Here we go!

Last week kicked off Tampa Bay fashion week, with some really fabulous accessory designers at Haute Accessory Fashion Week. A few days before the show bloggers, media and designers all gathered the Spain Restaurant (the BEST Sangria), in Downtown Tampa to get to know one another, and learn about the new lines as well as really get the essence of why we’re all in this fashion business, every designer I interviewed, and every other blogger I met came to the same consensus. PASSION. We are all really passionate about the work we do in making wearable art. Granteed I’m a stylist, so I don’t MAKE the art, I just put it all together, nonetheless, this is our dream! Hustle and Bustle of runway presentation, being overly anxious about 1 thing going wrong and ruining it all, late nights, early mornings, the fashion world is not for the weak. The fact is we all love what we do so very much, we’re all giving 110% to this “cause” of beautifying the globe, and we all care so deeply. The mixer was actually the first time I’d met people (in person) who shared this crazy dream of mine, it was a place to connect, to learn, to understand. It felt like I was home. Tampa Bay Fashion Week’s Runway presentation was last week, it was my first time getting a full on Media Pass for XoXoB.com, I wanted to dress the part, you know fashion blogger-esque, so here’s what I put together.

I wanted to pull from fashion story lines that have been presenting themselves across NYFW’s runway shows, and one of those reoccurring themes thorough most designers is Fairy Tale. The whimsical, the romantic, the beautiful, all sources of inspiration in what seems to be an approaching trend for holiday. To match this theme I chose to wear this gorgeous inspired mid-calf blush toned tulle skirt. Remember I don’t have the budget to dress by designer just yet, but I still wanted my outfit to make it look like I do. I found this skirt on sale at Dillards for only $17! A bargain to say the least.

skirt

Since the tulle is so fancy and lovely, and I didn’t want to be TOO much at a fashion show, I paired it with a simple chambray shirt (Merona for Target $20), I let it unbutton a little bit and show a hint of a nude lace bandeau (Francesca’s Collections $16). This helps dress the outfit down, while still keeping it on trend, chic and classy. I like to think of things this way: “If someone were to take a picture of me TODAY would I look really dated in 10 years?” If the answer is yes, don’t wear it!

shirt

Finally, I had a really difficult time choosing shoes, but decided to keep them simple and opt for bolder accessories when I picked these nude suede Kenneth Cole Peep-toes. Peep-toes are the easiest heel to wear for me since I tend to have chubbier feet, and they match the classic theme of the outfit. I found these at Ross for only $15!

shoes

I said I was going to opt for bolder accessories and I think I totally nailed it with these! I got tons of complements at the show on my outfit and had a great time socializing with designers, models and random people who just LOVE fashion almost as much as I do!

outfit

I felt like a million bucks, threw my hair in a messy-chic undo, and wore a simple ivory bangle with a thing gold chain around my neck. Accessories were minimal because again I didn’t want to over-do it with the tulle skirt. This is such a great look, now I need something to wear it to again! 🙂

fulllook

IMG_0393

Texture & Tulle,

B

 

 

About britaknee

I'm Brittany, I love my bbz (James & Cash) clothes, glitter, mud, glitter, PBR, making stuff, and freedom.
This entry was posted in fashion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tampa Bay Fashion Week 2014. Here we go!

  1. Cute outfit! It also looks comfy which is not a word I usually think of when I hear ‘fashion week.’

  2. Looks fun! Awesome to get a press pass to a big event.

  3. Super cute outfit. Your skirt is in my favorite color!

Leave a Reply

