Pinterest Wins: The Struggle behind the Victory.

Lately it seems like “Pinterest Fail” photos and links are all over my social media news feeds. Being a blogger, and a crafty person, I typically am the one uploading and creating fun craft ideas and recipes. It’s a rare occasion for me to pin something and follow the directions, as I’m more of a “Pinned it, Spinned it” kind of girl. However, since I’ve been selected out of thousands of applicants to host an amazing #Disneyside @homecelebration, I wanted to go ALL OUT, and really show the world my party planning & prep skills. I created a fabulous Pinterest Board full of Disney ideas, and I WAS really committed to recreating each of those darling crafts for Cash’s Disney themed Valentine’s Day party. That was until last night…

I found this pin, and while I don’t typically do processed foods in general, I thought they would make the cutest little treats for the kids goody bags! Seems simple and self explanatory right?

1. Put 2 halves of a mini Oreo on the side of 1 mega-stuffed or double stuff Oreo

2. Dip in melted chocolate

3. Allow to cool for 2-3 hours

4. Dip bottom half in red baking melts

5. Dip stick into red baking melts and attach to Oreo

6. Allow to cool and then add your buttons

Here’s how it really went down:

1. Shuffle through Oreo package and pick out the 20 cookies that aren’t ALREADY broken

2. Attach Mini-Oreos to the top, and try not to break the big Oreo in the process (this happened about 13 times)

3. Once you have your unbroken Mickey Mouse Oreo heads, dip them in chocolate. Only, when you dip them, the little Oreos will fall out, causing a huge chocolate mess, globbing, and breaking of the big Oreo. Think of a different way to coat the top in chocolate. Try using a spoon, but don’t coat with the spoon too hard, or the ears will fall off and break the big Oreo… Try using an unused paint brush, immediately stop when you see the paint brush hairs coming out in your chocolate. Try to stop crying, suck it up, it’s a PINTEREST CRAFT for God’s sake, you CAN and WiLL do this!!!

FullSizeRender-2

4. After about 2 hours of attempting to glop chocolate on enough to cover the top portion of Mickey’s head, and having just BARELY enough to put one in each child’s goody bag say to yourself “That’s Good enough”, and put them in the fridge overnight, you’ll need your rest if you’re going to finish these damn things.

IMG_1501

5. Wake up and have a TON of coffee. Count your Mouse heads just to make sure you have SOME room for error (if you don’t have room for error, start back at step 1)

Now the next problem was my fault, the pinner’s instructions CLEARLY said “Red Baking Melts”, but Target had vanilla almond bark melt on sale for less than $1 a package, and I THOUGHT (silly me) that I could just add red food coloring to that and it would work. WRONG. Food coloring in almond bark melt completely takes away it’s dipp-able consistency and you end up with a weird dry frosting-like substance. So…

6. Think on your feet! You can’t have red bottoms, so dipping them in white, and covering them in pink sprinkles for Minnie and red sprinkles for Mickey will work!!! This part actually was the easiest part! It worked, and was super simple, though it didn’t produce that “professional pinnable” look I was hoping for, at this point I just wanted to be done without quitting! Side tip: remember to turn your heat off while doing this, otherwise your lovely chocolate covered Mickey Mouse tops will start to melt in your hands as your dipping.

7. Dip your stick (in my case cute paper straws that I cut in half) into the white chocolate then attach it to the bottom of your mouse head. Don’t try to force the stick in, or the Oreo will break. Don’t be too gentle inserting the stick, or it will fall right off. After proper insertion of said stick, CAREFULLY place these precious Mickey and Minnie’s in the refrigerator . If you want, after 3 hours, you may take a few out to photograph, after a battle like that, you’ll want a keepsake from this Victory.

IMG_1513

Mine certainly don’t look anything like the pin, but after a process that took about 4 hours altogether, I’m marking this one as a win in my book, and from now on I’m going to stick to uploading the pins myself again! If you’re out there struggling with a pin, know that you are not alone, and you CAN avoid the Pinterest Fail, if you have a positive outlook, a glass (or 4) of wine, and stick with it!

IMG_1530

IMG_1528

Double Stuffed and Mini,

B

About britaknee

I'm Brittany, I love my bbz (James & Cash) clothes, glitter, mud, glitter, PBR, making stuff, and freedom.
This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pinterest Wins: The Struggle behind the Victory.

  1. This is too freaking funny!! This still happens to me all the time! ha! I am really good at pinterest ‘fails’ šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

