Celebrate LOVE with your little!

As mentioned several times before holidays are kind of a big deal in the Clark House. We tend to go a tad overboard with gifting for baby Cash, but I always try to find the best deals on materialistic things, and splurge on longer-term and sentimental gifts while he’s at this age. For Valentine’s Day I inadvertently started a tradition of getting him a set of things: a book, an outfit, a small chocolate/candy item, and a toy. This year I took the outfit a step further, and found something that compliments some of the things in my wardrobe, for a Mommy and Me photo-shoot (post coming monday!!). I can’t wait til he opens up his darling little gifts this year, if you’re looking for ideas for your little ones (and want to keep the sugar rush to a minimum, like me) here’s what is in Cash’s spread this V-day.

1. The Book with No Pictures. 

James and I loved The Office and I ADORE The Mindy Project, so when I learned that B.J. Novak, one of the writers/actor on both shows wrote a hilarious Children’s book, I knew it would be the PERFECT gift for Cash. After reading it once over on my own, the book is really a “grow with me” kind of book. He laughs at all the different voices I make now when I read it, but I can picture him loving all the funny things it says when he’s in the 5-8 age group. It’s so great for all ages really!! My mom and I were cracking up reading it the first time!

IMG_1436

2. Mommy and Me outfit

I’m not “one of those” moms who continually dresses to match her kid or vice versa. However, I do believe that if you plan on taking pictures together it’s important to ensure that your outfits COMPLIMENT each other. While I don’t want to give away what it is exactly that we’re wearing, here’s some similar Mommy&Me outfits that don’t make you look like you’re completely obsessed with your child.Not that there’s ANYTHING wrong with that obsession 😉

Screen Shot 2015-02-13 at 1.36.18 AM

Kid's Valentine's Day look
 

3. Snoopy holding a Whitman’s Heart.

While I’m not big on giving my child processed foods in general, holidays are the ONE time I’ll make certain exceptions. My mother raised me that when it comes to boxed chocolates, nothing and I mean NOTHING is as good as a Whitman’s box. Last year Cash was too young for candy, so this year I got him just a tiny heart shaped box (with a total of 4 chocolates in it), that a heart-sunglasses adorned stuffed Snoopy is holding. It’s super adorable, and I like that there’s also a toy, not JUST candy in this $5 treat.

7720_dt-1

4. A set of 3 mini sports balls.

Cash has such an obsession with balls. Seriously. The other day in Old Navy he had his first temper-tantrum in public because I made him put the American flag covered Volleyball back in the bin and wouldn’t let him take it home with him. So when I found this set of a football, basketball and soccer ball that were just his size in CVS, I just knew it would be the perfect toy to give to him for this occasion! Sure it isn’t adorned in hearts or glitter, but that’s the way I like to give gifts. The way I see it, if I’m spending more than $5 on something, I want to be sure that it’s something the gift receiver can enjoy for an extended period of time, and Cash will be playing with these until he’s ready to move up to the big kid sizes!

Unknown

Hope you and your little ones have as much fun as I know me and Cash are going to have this Valentine’s Day!

Hearts Full of Love,

B

About britaknee

I'm Brittany, I love my bbz (James & Cash) clothes, glitter, mud, glitter, PBR, making stuff, and freedom.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Celebrate LOVE with your little!

  1. Christine says:

    love that you match outfits. I have a little girl now and it is easy to match with her but baby #2 due in July is a boy and I was kind of sad about not being able to match as easily. Thanks

  2. Megan says:

    These are great suggestions! You have a great eye for quality items that are so adorable!

  3. Mommy A to Z says:

    I really want to check out the B.J. Novak book! I bet it’s awesome! Such great ideas here 🙂

Leave a Reply

