Bitch Bitch Bitch, how social media is turning us all against one another.

socialmedia

This has been on my mind a lot lately since getting some backlash for defending the underdog in some social media stories. While I love being able to connect instantly with other people from around the world, love being able to share my blog, my tee shirt line, and my life with other people there’s something about social media that empowers everyone to be an expert on everyone else’s life and how they should live it, and I for one, have hit a limit. The negatively that I experience when I stick up for a person who’s being attacked, the rude and hateful statements and comments that people so carelessly post away about celebrities, or people who have been featured in the media, or decisions one person or another made.

happiness

EVERYONE is DIFFERENT. We get it, you want to express your opinion, you want to say “I disagree with this” or “this is SO wrong” when sharing something, and that’s okay, I just don’t understand when expressing your opinion became something so hateful! Instead of saying something along the lines of “This is wrong” or asking for a way to understand certain things that isn’t being agreed with, my news feed is crawling with statements about people being “pieces of $h!t” or “trashy”. Why? because since everything is so public now on social media we all seem to think we’re an authority on one another’s life. Guess what?! We aren’t! A lot of people censor and edit what is actually displayed to the public, meaning you don’t see any hurt, any raw emotion, any unfiltered images (unless of course there’s the #nofilter), you don’t see any pain.

everyoneyoumeet

You think I have a perfect relationship and a perfect life because you see great images in my profile? While I love my life, there are certainly moments where I wouldn’t post things, there are some days where all I want to do is lay in bed, but I don’t Instagram a photo of my no make up face on a pillow with drool coming out of my mouth, and certainly wouldn’t want my entire life to be judged by that ONE moment of laziness. I’m a person, you’re a person, we’re all people with real feelings that can be directly effected by what other people say about us, and as such we should all be treating one another with equal respect and compassion.

LOVEONEANOTHER

So next time you’re thinking of sharing a mean meme that makes fun of someones life or choices, think, how would you feel if someone did the same to you? To quote Thumper “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say nothin’ at all”, or at least express your opinion in a nicer way. Your negative attitude and choice of words not only affects those around you, it also effects your life. Why let something minuscule make you seem like a total C U Next Tuesday? Let’s start embracing the diversity of lifestyles that consume our beautiful nation instead of feeding into the hate cycle. Let’s start using the power at our fingertips for GOOD. Let’s learn to love one another again and be more accepting and thoughtful of each other’s individuality!

youcant

Peace, Love, and Positive Vibes,

B

About britaknee

I'm Brittany, I love my bbz (James & Cash) clothes, glitter, mud, glitter, PBR, making stuff, and freedom.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

